A little over a year after release, the CySA+ has earned its place among well regarded certifications. The difficulty is in the intermediate level. See below for CySA+ CS0-001 exam details.

Exam Structure

  • Number of Questions: 75 questions (85 max)
  • Duration: 165 minute duration, not including survey time, about 2 minutes per question
  • Score Range: 100-900
  • Passing Score: 750 (roughly 83%, not including experimental questions)
  • Types of Questions:
    • Multiple Choice – can have more than one answer
    • Performance Based – perform the requested action

Exam Domains

  1. Threat Management 27%
  2. Vulnerability Management 26%
  3. Cyber Incident Response 23%
  4. Security Architecture and Tool Sets 24%

Exam History

  • CS0-002: April 21, 2020, current
  • CS0-001: February 15, 2017, retired October 21, 2020

Note: CompTIA had to change the certification acronym from CSA+ to CySA+ due to a trademark issue. This change was made by June 29th, 2018. The exam ​code is still the same. Most people still keep the vernacular as CSA+.
Update: Added the new CS0-002 exam to the list.

Study Notes

A current overview of CompTIA CySA+ certification exam CS0-001.

  1. Threat Management
  2. Vulnerability Management
  3. Cyber Incident Response
  4. Security Architecture and Tool Sets

After the Exam

Likely Jobs

  • IT Security Analyst
    • Tier II SOC Analyst
    • Security Monitoring
  • Application Security Analyst
  • Incident Response or Handler
  • Vulnerability Analyst
  • Threat Intelligence Analyst
  • Cybersecurity Analyst
  • Security Operations Center (SOC) Analyst
  • Cybersecurity Specialist
  • Security Engineer
  • Penetration Tester
  • Security Architect
  • Compliance Analyst
  • Threat Hunter

Pin It on Pinterest